TOWN OF BOWDOINHAM

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMITTEE BYLAWS

Adopted: _	July 25, 2023
Amended:	

I. Purpose

The purpose of the Emergency Medical Services Committee is to plan for emergency medical services for the Town.

II. Appointment

Appointments to the Emergency Medical Services Committee shall be made by the municipal officers.

The Emergency Medical Services Committee shall consist of three to seven residents.

The term of each member shall be three years, except the initial appointments which shall be for one, two and three years. All newly designated committee members are to be sworn in by the Town Clerk.

A vote of a quorum may direct the action of the municipal officers to declare a permanent vacancy due to the unexcused absence of a member from three regular meetings of the Emergency Medical Services committee in a twelve-month period. When there is a permanent vacancy, the municipal officers shall, within 60 days of its occurrence, appoint a person to serve for the unexpired term.

III. Qualifications

Each member of the Emergency Medical Services Committee shall be a legal resident of the Town of Bowdoinham.

IV. Compensation

There shall be no compensation provided for the membership of the Emergency Medical Services Committee.

V. Duties; Responsibilities

The Emergency Medical Services Committee shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

- 1. Develop a plan for emergency medical services for the Town.
- 2. Perform such duties to assist in the implementation of said plan.

3. The Committee may obtain goods and services necessary for its proper functioning within the limits of appropriations made for the purpose, as approved by the Select Board.

VI. Organization

Officers

Chair - It is the Chair's primary responsibility to fairly facilitate Committee's meetings. The Chair presides at all meetings, decides questions of order, and calls special meetings and signs appropriate documents and reports. The Chair is also responsible for communication with staff and the Select Board for reporting, requests for resources, and delivering recommendations from the committee.

Vice-Chair - The Vice Chair assumes the Chair's responsibilities in the Chair's absence or as requested by the Chair.

Secretary - The Secretary prepares minutes of the meeting and distributes them to staff, as well as the Select Board members after approval by the Committee. If the secretary is not present or elected, then an individual shall be appointed at each meeting to record.

<u>Meetings</u>

The chair shall call at least one regular meeting each month unless there are no agenda items for a given regular meeting. The Committee may establish a different regular meeting day and/or different regular start time by majority vote of its members. The chair may call special meetings when necessary. Notice of special meetings shall be posted as required by law.

Notice of regular, special, and rescheduled meetings shall be posted as required by law.

Any member who has a direct or indirect pecuniary interest or who for other reasons has a bias in any question on which he or she must decide must make full disclosure of that interest or bias on the record and must abstain from voting or attempting to influence a decision in his or her capacity as a member. Any question of whether a member shall be disqualified from voting on a particular matter shall be decided by a majority vote of the members except the member who is being challenged. Such a member may participate as a member of the public.

Quorum

A quorum shall consist of a simple majority of the current membership. In the event that a quorum is not present, committee may:

- reschedule the meeting to another date and adjourn the meeting; or
- the committee may continue the meeting with the understanding that no official votes will be taken.

VII. Amendments

Ratification and amendments of these by-laws should be reviewed annually, and amendments must be approved by a majority vote of the committee and the Select Board.

VIII. Severability

The invalidity of any section or provision of these Bylaws shall not be held to invalidate any other section or provision of these Bylaws.

Adopted this	day of		, 2023
Selectperson:		Peter Lewis	
		Peter Lewis	
Selectperson:		Mark Favreau	
Selectperson:		Debra Smith	
Selectperson:			
. —		Allen Acker	
Selectperson:		Peter Feeney	
		reier reenev	